• SentrySafe Fire/Water File: Model FHW40100

  • FHW40100 Fire/Water File is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 57.
    • y_2020, m_9, d_21, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_FHW40100, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_sentrysafe
    • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
    • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 39ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • LargeModel FHW40100
  • Interior Capacity 0.66 cubic ft
  • Price Range: $50-$100
  • Security Protection Security Protection
  • Fire Resistant Fire Protection
  • Water Resistant Water Protection
Model
  • thumbnail
  • thumbnail
  • thumbnail
  • UL Fire Endurance

Top of the Line Protection

  • Fire Protection

    UL Classified to protect your valuables in a fire for a 1/2 hour up to 1550°F (843°C)

  • Water Protection

    ETL Verified to protect your valuable items from flood damage up to 72 hours

  • Security Protection

    More Information

    Privacy key lock keeps unwanted viewers or children away from the contents of the safe.

Overview

The FHW40100 provides true peace-of-mind for your important documents and records with a durable design and peril protection. This safe is UL Classified and ETL Verified to protect your documents and digital media in the event of a fire or flood. This safe is built to hold hanging file folders to provide easy organization of standard sized files or folders and can be easily transported with a convenient carrying handle.

Features

Privacy Key Lock

Our most standard option and the simplest way to secure your valuables. Typically accompanied by a spare for convenience.

Digital Media Protection

Protect tablets, phones, external hard drives, memory cards, USB drives, CDs, DVDs and other electronic storage devices.

Accommodates Hanging Files

Keep important files like medical records, business records, financial paperwork and more organized and protected. (Hanging Files not included)

Carrying Handle

Make moving your safe, chest or file easy with a convenient carrying handle.

Specifications

    Stack
    • Exterior Size

      14.1 in H X 16.6 in W X 13.8 in D

    • Interior Size

      11.6 in H X 12.0 in W X 8.1 in D

    • Capacity

      0.66 cubic ft

    • Lock Type

      Flat Key

    • Peril Type

      Security, Fire, Water

    • Weight

      41.000 lb

    • Material

      Captured Fire Insulation

    Note: All dimensions and weights provided are approximate, and are subject to change without notice.

    Support

    • Product Manual

      Download the latest owner’s manual for this product.

      View Product Manual
    • FAQs

      Find answers to the most frequently asked questions.

      View FAQs
    • Videos

      Guides to safe setup, troubleshooting, and other support needs.

      View Videos
    Rated 3 out of 5 by JohnB from Customer Service I unfortunately did not read the reviews before I purchased...I too had the handle break. The handle design (plastic) needs a better solution. Here's where Sentry saved me as a customer. I contacted customer service (Jessica) and have to say that was an extremely pleasant process. She took all of my information, made me no promises and then let me know the very next day that Sentry would stand behind their product. I'm hopeful the replacement safe has a better handle option. We'll see...either way, I am very impressed with their willingness to keep a customer happy and stand behind their brand!
    Date published: 2019-11-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by MA59 from Mechanically Weak in handle/latch - Broken I purchased the LH4 in July 2016 from Target. This week the handle/latch broke and the safe failed closed (locked). I called Sentry and they told me how to get the safe open (making it permanently non-operational). They also told me the design hadn't changed since I bought this safe. Once I got it open, and after further inspection, I noticed the interior portion of the broken handle/latch is made out of plastic (picture). It engages with a metal latch so I don't understand why Sentry didn't design it with a metal handle/latch, since it is mechanically stressed when the safe is opened. It also fails closed meaning when the handle breaks, you can't get it open, the safe is locked. It should fail open so at least you could get the contents out. We had not used this safe that often, maybe open once a month. It was out of the one year warranty. Sentry told me they couldn't help me further.
    Date published: 2020-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Jayman382 from Excellent Love the safe it's everything I wanted, it has the built in rails for the file dividers, handles to carry easy, I feel safe and secure with this. I do wish that the handles weren't so shallow because it makes it a little hard to grip, and the inside only fits letter size paper (no folders because that little bit of extra length is too big), lastly the lever feels a little too delicate and it feels like it could break if I use it when it's accidentally locked.
    Date published: 2018-08-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by nevermind from junk do not buy this product. my latch broke in under 2 years. using my key. i then placed two screwdrivers into the safe and was able to break into my own safe in under 10 minutes. not knowing what to do. now i do. yet its junk. buy another brand. the lock worked great. the company should have 3 different locks instead of the latch.
    Date published: 2019-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by nanniebarb from Heavy, strong It is a great size to keep confidential information (marriage and birth certificates, insurance information, copies of wills, CD's of home furnishings, etc.) in. I was disappointed that it was not safe to keep medication in. Excellent for other uses.
    Date published: 2019-07-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by Frank Worsham from Good for documents I never owned one of these before, previously relied on a safety deposit box. It seems to be adequately fire resistant. It doesn't hold as much as I first thought it would - maybe about 5 or 6 inches of paper including hanging folders. And it is heavy due to fireproofing materials. It could be improved by making the handles deeper. They are hard to grip and when the the file box is full the weight makes the grip feel kind of risky for my old arms. The box isn't that secure - the lock could easily be pried open but I didn't intend to use it as a safe.
    Date published: 2020-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by Turk from Good product This safe is a good buy but in this year I noticed it has developed a crack on the outer skin of the safe I only had it for three years because of this I cannot give it a five star review
    Date published: 2019-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by Molly2020 from Strong safe This safe is the perfect size for my documents. I read the product description prior to ordering it and it said it is fire proof and waterproof yet the mini manual that came with it says fire resistant. I did call sentry and was told it’s FireProof. So not sure what it is. I bought it to be fireproof. It’s very roomy. Holds everything
    Date published: 2019-10-05
    • y_2020, m_9, d_21, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
    • loc_en_US, sid_FHW40100, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_sentrysafe
    • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
    • CLOUD, getReviews, 20ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT